Archive for March 26th, 2008

26
Mar
08

hit play on the muxtape, kid…

Tape

You upload 12 tracks to Muxtape, it becomes public, you link your boys, and they can all enjoy it from their browser. No zip/rar files to download and then decompress; no unnecessary MP3s randomly cluttered all over your desktop; simply, no bullshit. And why didn’t we have the smarts to implement something so necessary to the Internet?

This post wouldn’t be much if I wasn’t contributing my own mix, right? For my first, and most likely not my last Muxtape, I threw 12 tracks together from Chicago-based artists that I practically grew up on. Shit is just as timeless as when I first heard them – some over 14 years ago. There may be a track from a forthcoming album on there. ON REPEAT that one is!

BetterThanAliens – Muxtape 1  (Patience while this site gets their act together)

I could see this site being used as a weekly or monthly resource to post mixes, gentlemen?

26
Mar
08

“Hooray” for 3rd Album from Delays

The Britpop group Delays have posted a video for “Hooray,” the first single from the group’s upcoming May 5th release, Everything’s The Rush.  With the absense of James and The Verve for most of the 2000s, Delays have been a mainstay in my Britpop diet since their stellar debut, Faded Seaside Glamour, was released in 2004.  Many might know the band for its song “Long Time Coming” featured prominently in the “A Diamond is Forever” ad campaign.

26
Mar
08

James Ready for a Revival with Hey Ma

I plan to provide a review of James’ (yes, best known for “Laid”) new album in the coming weeks.  It will be released on April 7th.  Much as their last studio album, Pleased to Meet You, was in 2001, I expect it will be brilliant.  I also suspect as much after hearing what appears to be studio takes of two new songs, “Whiteboy” and the title track, “Hey Ma.”  A video featuring the later might soon be removed, as it appears it was put together without the knowledge of James or the British charity it aims to bring attention to,  Help for Heroes.  The video brutally captures some of the horror of the Iraqi campaign after five years.  Help for Heroes raises money for British soldiers wounded in current military campaigns.




Upcoming Shows:

a

March 2008
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031