Archive for March 16th, 2008

16
Mar
08

Amsterdam is goin’ right

The April 2008 of British music magazine Word says of Amsterdam’s sophomore effort Arm in Arm, “Amsterdam make big, emotional stuff: these are songs that hug you, offer you a pint and put you in a cab home.”  I wish I had written that line.  The review ends by exclaiming, “Bold, honest and tuneful, a trip to Amsterdam comes highly recommended.”

I will second that recommendation.  Even though it will have stiff competition just in the weeks ahead (see below), I expect this will be my album of the year.  While websurfing, I stumbled upon the Amsterdam website many years ago.  After one listen to the pop sheen of one of its posted songs, “Takin’ on the World,” Amsterdam was at the top of my radar, and I slowly started to file them in my “all-time” favorite band lists with groups such as The Jam, R.E.M. (new album April 1), Astrid, Counting Crows (new album March 25), James (new album April 7), and The Connells.  Soon after my introduction to Amsterdam, I flew to London in December 2005 for a quick vacation to see them perform at the legendary Borderline club.   As I eagerly look forward to the weeks ahead of anticipated releases, Amsterdam begins my escape from my occasionally self-imposed indie confines.

In an incredibly insightful interview posted to Jade’s Blog, a blog by the music columnist for the Liverpool Echo, Amsterdam frontman Ian Prowse remarks of the new album and his band’s place in the musical landscape:

I’m not competing with The Wombats.  Our record won’t appeal to the NME, but Uncut and Mojo give us great reviews. It’s Radio 2, not Radio 1.  But the main thing I’ve realised is I’m not trying to be clever anymore.  It’s about the big things in life now, the things that really mean something. I don’t want to write about throwaway things.  It’s reflected in the sort of music I listen to now. Unless it’s really going to reach out and touch me I don’t want to hear it.

Continue reading ‘Amsterdam is goin’ right’

16
Mar
08

brilliance through this keyhole…

WM

  • Strong pop sensibilities? Most definitely.
  • Club bass and next level synth lines? Oh, of course.
  • Unique, yet comforting vocals gliding over hook-laden melodies? Check, and Walter Meego has and continues to do it oh so well.

My favorite Chicago duo who steps to the keyboard racks with ease and also twiddles knobs, yet is heavy on the pop hooks, is finally about to release a full-length LP entitled, Voyager. Walter Meego is no stranger to constructing tracks that are just as comfortable in the club or on a DJ’s mix, but could definitely find their way to a pop lover’s stereo, too. Musically, I’m going to throw a comparison to the Junior Boys if those Ontarians brought more upfront melodies and more heavy bass. Check out ‘Forever’ from Walter Meego’s Voyager record being released in May. Damn if this track couldn’t blowup with the masses.

WM :: ‘Forever’

And then on maybe the flipside to the above cut, is ‘Through a Keyhole’; this is definitely so far my highlight from them- Simple piano melody throughout, sporadic electronic effects, gutter bass and ultimately, a brilliant pop song under it all. Simply a shame if you don’t put this on blast.

WM :: ‘Through a Keyhole’




Upcoming Shows:

a

March 2008
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031