Archive for November 29th, 2006

29
Nov
06

Straight Out the Casket, Rising Up

Honeycut

OK.  Enough sleeping.  I’m not so sure I have a valid excuse for hardly posting.  Yes, I’m the new owner of an incredible dog.  And yes, he’s taken up lots of my time.  But I’m still able to listen to music in between the potty training and frequent puppy kisses. 

 Honeycut originally caught my eye a couple months ago just after they released their first full length album, The Day I Turned to Glass.  The song with the same name hit me first and made quite an impact. 

 The beginning beat resembles one of Dr. Dre’s patented West-Coast, G-Funk Era grooves.  It’s dark with a skosh of mysteriousness added to it that immediately causes a head to sway or a foot to tap.  It loops for 30 seconds before lead singer, Bart Davenport steps to the mic and croons his way through the cut. 

Incidentally, the band is signed to Quannum Records; a label famous for housing such reputable acts as DJ Shadow, Lyrics Born and Blackalicious.  The album slides all over the place and has flashes of R&B, soul and funk at the core with some electronics, synths and strings mixed in.  Davenport shows as much range with his vocals as well.

 Peep it if you dig it:

Honeycut – The Day I Turned to Glass

Honeycut – Exodus Honey




Upcoming Shows:

a

November 2006
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930