11
Feb
13

Hawksley suggests you put on your headphones…

Screen Shot 2013-02-11 at 7.28.41 PM

If I were forming a band, I’d keep it local. Those members would be friends, ones who share my interests and overall love of a sound. They’d be invested in the music, a movement that only so many can understand. My ‘mates would surround themselves in aural pleasures. If the option presented itself, they wouldn’t turn off the soundtrack to their lives. Ever.

Take the Ontarioan Hawksley Workman, a man capable of creating sexed up glam, chamber pop, celestial hymns, or countless other wonders, Steve Bays from British Columbia’s Hot Hot Heat, and Ryan Dahley from Vancouver’s Limblifter to form Mounties. Fittingly, they’re Canadian. ‘Headphones’, with its driving guitar line, perfect pop pleasantries, and anthemic sing along, is the equivalent of a date with your favorite record: one where it’s you, a favorite piece of vinyl, and your headphones to take in the aural experience. Get lost in the sound…

2 Responses to “Hawksley suggests you put on your headphones…”


  1. March 7, 2013 at 4:40 am

    Dude, this friggin’ ROCKS! Wow, I love it, my fav thing you posted in a minute! I instantly heard this grooved out bass line, and as you said “driving guitars,” that were not overbearing! I love the vocals, and I appreciate the review because I would never have known about this SUPERGROUP! You led me to Divine Fits and now the divine Mounties:)! Nice Call!~

  2. March 7, 2013 at 4:25 pm

    Dude, I CAN”T STOP PLAYING THUS SONG!


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

February 2013
S M T W T F S
« Dec   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

