24
Nov
12

Shit makes me scratch circles on the dance floor…

Sure, there are always feel good tracks. But as of late, I think I’ve discovered a feel good sound. One vibe that consistently turns a mood around and causes my feet to shuffle. It tends to nod towards the sound of decades ago; 40s/50s R&B, Ray Charles swagger, the sound of rock & roll before it was just rock. The type of swing that could  turn Lou’s Cafe upside down; one moment all tranquil courtesy of The Great Pretender by the crooning Platters; then the nickel hits the slot and the patrons erupt from their booths; patrons are spinning around, twirling their gals, kicking up their feet, and just enjoying life. Or what I envision if Tulsa’s JD McPherson‘s record Signs & Signifiers could have hit the juke.

JD McPherson :: Scandalous

2 Responses to “Shit makes me scratch circles on the dance floor…”


  1. November 26, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    Lou, give me a milk…*SLAP*…chocolate.

  2. December 16, 2012 at 9:49 am

    Dude, great call on this song! WXRT is playing the hell out of it, and it’s such a happy song! I did not picture him looking like that when I first saw that record cover in Best Buy flyer. I really need to listen to more of this record! Is it all good?


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

