25
Aug
09

Life After Trance…

In the early part of this decade, I associated myself with friends who enjoyed raves. When the trance  movement came upon us, they embraced it with open arms, flashy glow sticks, and pills. Everything about it I despised – especially the music: Tiesto, Timo Maas, Judge Jules, ETC. Fast forward to the present day, and elements of this scene, musically speaking, of course, stumble into my listening habits. These artists, who my friends worshiped and I loathed, began composing more artist oriented albums. With the announcement of Tiesto’s new record, Kaleidoscope, I’m not shunning the Dutch DJ anymore – based on Feel It in My Bones, he might be on to something. And it was German DJ Timo Maas and his Pictures record that made me bother to even explore a Tiesto track. Maas’ Pictures, from his ’05 LP, is responsible for putting faith into artists I formerly thought were of an abysmal movement.

FBI,
I don’t approve of the lyrics, nor the content from Mr. Molko – who fronted the glam English act Placebo. The dark, throbbing beat is what puts me into a trance; it helps me to spin this endlessly. It becomes hypnotic. Wavy synth stabs only accentuate the gruesome picture the ex-Placebo frontman is exhibiting for us. Scary, yet brilliant, all at the same time.

Timo Maas :: Pictures (featuring Brian Molko)

1 Response to “Life After Trance…”


  1. August 26, 2009 at 10:45 am

    Not a bad tune on first listen, really doesn’t sound like trance to me.


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

