23
Aug
09

Across the Universe…

Picture 1

When I stumble on a cover, rarely am I familiar with the original. And I think that’s usually for the best. How frequently are your favorite tracks covered anyway? Mine? Can’t think of one. But I’ll fire off my favorite cover ever instantaneously. Across the Universe, originally a Beatles song – I found this out later than sooner – has been re-imagined a few times over; since I was never familiar with the original, I came into these tracks with an open mind. Both, are sophisticated and lovely, like I’ve discovered the first rendition is.

The operatic, classical, yet pop wizard Rufus Wainwright brings his classy style to the fab four’s original.

Rufus Wainwright :: Across the Universe

The mid-90s young phenom Fiona Apple delivers her throaty performance as starry as the original.

Fiona Apple :: Across the Universe

1 Response to “Across the Universe…”


  1. August 26, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Yeah, I had the “I Am Sam” Soundtrack, and I loved that version of “Across the Universe.” That movie almost brought on the waterworks and my wife had the soundtrack, so I rocked out to Rufus for awhile! I even got the tabs and tried playing the tune, not too hard. “Words are flowing out like English rain into a paper cup…”


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

