27
May
09

The National intro new song

The CBC’s QTV Channel on Youtube, with live performances from its Studio Q, features some of the best live performances on the Internet.  It’s no different with The National debuting a new haunting tune this week.  Stellar material.  One of the best bands around.

Watch in high defintion…tentatively titled “The Runaway.”

5 Responses to “The National intro new song”


  1. May 27, 2009 at 7:57 am

    One of the best bands around?

    I had no idea you even liked them. I barely know who they are. No joke.

  2. 2 Rose
    May 27, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    “I barely know who they are. No joke.”

    Wait, really? What, has Pitchfork not covered them enough?

  3. 3 Rose
    May 27, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Actually, DMB, they should be like your gods by now:

    http://pitchfork.com/reviews/albums/10242-boxer/

  4. 4 Joe
    May 27, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Funny stuff! I hadn’t listened to them until seeing them with R.E.M. at Red Rocks last year. Aside from Modest Mouse, that was one of the best concerts I’ve been to the last few years. I’ve been picking up their albums going backward chronologically.

  5. 5 radstarr1
    May 30, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Yeah, great post…I saw these guys in Chicago at The Vic last year and was just blown away! I couldn’t stop listening to “Apartment Song” for almost two months after Boxer dropped. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S97xQKZDV_4 The lyrics are so vivid, and not forced. “Be still for a second while I try and try to pin your flowers on/Can you carry my drink I have everything else/I can tie my tie all by myself/I’m getting tied, I’m forgetting why…” Did you ever hear that tune “Abel” off of “Alligator?” That’s got to be one of the best tunes ever written/performed, just the sheer raw energy! Also, I love this tune called “Beautiful Head” off “The National.” That is really badass too! You know, hearing this new tune makes me believe they are in their prime and being so comfortable with each other, this could be some of the best stuff that they have written thus far. They create these intense moods, and their shit just grows on you because of that. That’s also why they haven’t really blown up I think, and why their not on the radio. Anyways, thanks for the update, I’m glad to know they are back! I’ll play the shit out of this video:)


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

