23
May
09

O! Zo! Mot! li!

My local Comcast cable installer brought me back a few days ago. This friendly gentleman was apprising me of some local functions worth checking out. Before he even realized I was about the music, this technician suggested Breckenridge for their local concerts. The past fall, outside the ski resort, there was a Latin group comprised of six plus musicians causing a ruckus that blew him away. It was their energy; sincere passion for their songs; the uncanny ability to transfer their endless energy over to the crowd; and simply, a damn good time. Ozomatli is what they called themselves, he said.

In a humble tone, and in a way to not sound like the supposed hipster the Doc claims I am, I conveyed to him I know Ozomatli. Actually, this amalgamation of funk, salsa, hip-hop, and everything else on the get live tip, was something added to my collection back in ’98. At this time, I was introducing myself to the Spanish language. What better way to learn the language than through music? Plus, the up and coming rhyme spitter Chali 2na and crate digger Cut Chemist – who both went on to help form Jurassic 5 – rounded out the hip-hop element of this funksome.

Check “Cut Chemist Suite” below…

And then their upbeat, Latin side…

Ozomatli :: Como Ves

Ozomatli :: La Misma Canción

0 Responses to “O! Zo! Mot! li!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

