21
May
09

Am I Leaving Indie, or Is It Leaving Me?

Based on all but one act announced thus far for Monolith (that Scottish band Dave mentions below…) I must no longer be a fan of indie music.  All of these synth-loving, Cut Copy wannabes are BORING.  Monolith just announced the latest from Toronto called Woodhands.  Whatever.  I know Dave’s a bigger fan of the new indie, but I miss 2007.  If you’re going to announce a quality band from Toronto, why not Tin Star Orphans who dropped their debut Yonder on May 5th in Canada?   Maybe they play too many real instruments.  Monolith to me sounds like a retreaded 80s dance party through its early announcements.  Call me a cynic.  Hopefully this trend will reverse and match last year’s stellar lineup.

I’m still digesting Yonder, but it seems to have already entered my Top 10 Albums of  2009.  More to follow…

Tin Star Orphans

“Let You Down”

“Miss You”

2 Responses to “Am I Leaving Indie, or Is It Leaving Me?”


  1. May 21, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    I love the fire! Yea, nothing exciting has been announced yet. Maybe Silversun Pickups will return, and then everyone will be satisfied….

  2. 2 Rose
    May 21, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    “Maybe Silversun Pickups will return, and then everyone will be satisfied….”

    One can only hope…


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

