Archive for May 21st, 2009

21
May
09

Am I Leaving Indie, or Is It Leaving Me?

Based on all but one act announced thus far for Monolith (that Scottish band Dave mentions below…) I must no longer be a fan of indie music.  All of these synth-loving, Cut Copy wannabes are BORING.  Monolith just announced the latest from Toronto called Woodhands.  Whatever.  I know Dave’s a bigger fan of the new indie, but I miss 2007.  If you’re going to announce a quality band from Toronto, why not Tin Star Orphans who dropped their debut Yonder on May 5th in Canada?   Maybe they play too many real instruments.  Monolith to me sounds like a retreaded 80s dance party through its early announcements.  Call me a cynic.  Hopefully this trend will reverse and match last year’s stellar lineup.

I’m still digesting Yonder, but it seems to have already entered my Top 10 Albums of  2009.  More to follow…

Tin Star Orphans

“Let You Down”

“Miss You”

21
May
09

September 12-13…

IMG_0651

The festival situated in between two rocks returns. Monolith, a smaller version of Grant Park’s annual tradition, is returning for its third year at Morrison, Colorado’s Red Rocks. Last year, I made the special trip to witness a most impressive lineup. But for ’09, I’ll make a trip – but it will be about 15 minutes. If ‘08’s collection of some of my favorite acts was any indication of things to come for the present, we are in for another heart thumping weekend. With less than four months before I have to surmount the endless stair climb, Monolith is slowly unveiling who it has to offer us

Frightened Rabbit, who thoroughly entertained me in Chicago, are scheduled to share their Scottish jams with us…

Frightened Rabbit :: Old Old Fashioned

Talk about catchy. Passion Pit have brought it…

Vodpod videos no longer available.

The Pains of Being Pure at Heart seem to be all the rage these days…

Vodpod videos no longer available.



Upcoming Shows:

a

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31