16
Dec
08

My (Re) Discovery of the Year…

picture-12

And herein lies the dilemma of this guy. People say he needs an editor, but people can never agree on which songs he needs to get rid of. Give ’em all to us, I say… and let us decide which ones we don’t want to hear.

It took a thread on Ryan Adams to help me discover the above sentiment proclaims nothing but the truth.  I’ve been a believer in the man’s talents – heartfelt lyricism, potential to turn the country twang on, ability to concoct pop songs in their simplest form; and a man not intimidated to pay homage to his influences.  He may spit out more albums than most, but there is always a central purpose on each – which after a few spins, seem to always hit me just right.

If I had to select the best thing musically I found on the Internet in 2008, it would have been this epic thread – a comprehensive collection of Ryan’s catalog.  I know, with the man’s prolific nature, this is no easy feat.    At one time, I had two LPs from Adams on my iPod; now the count is at 12, but with my newfound respect and sincere adoration for his catalog, I know that new number will inevitably increase.   Below, three of the various  tracks I was enlightened to this year, or in one case, reacquainted with…

One of the timeless numbers off 2005’s Cold Roses

Ryan Adams :: Rosebud

I drew a half-sincere connection to the following phrase taken from “29”Most of my friends are married and making them babies/To most of them I already died. The truth?  Of course not, but it resonated with me. Opener to 2005’s 29

Ryan Adams :: 29

A sucker I am for a generic sounding rock n roll song.  B-side to this year’s Cardinology

Ryan Adams :: Heavy Orange

1 Response to “My (Re) Discovery of the Year…”


  1. 1 Joe
    December 29, 2008 at 3:33 am

    Great post. I totally agree with your sentiments about Adams, and I also enjoyed that superthread, although I’ve admittedly not listened to much new material in several years. He’s a talented songwriter and vocalist. “Pneumonia” and “Gold” are two of the finer albums I’ve heard, and I’ve been listening recently to “48 Hours.” I have some other CDs of his that I never quite got into though, mostly because of his quantity at the time. As I’ve become increasingly overwhelmed with the ditch I’ve dug myself in terms of work, it’s increasingly hard to hit upon the new and old CDs I need to visit or revisit.


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

