03
Dec
08

Oh My Heart (Again!)

It’s December now and end of the year lists are coming out on a daily basis.  After they started to pop up, I began to assemble a tentative list for my culminating post of 2008.  The past few years my list was compiled based on frequency of spins.  And this year will be no different, I assume – but I recently discovered Vancouver’s Mother Mother.  Two months ago my sentiments were this: Maybe if Office, Of Montreal, and ILYBICD jumped in bed together, they fornicated and kicked something out, it might sound like what’s below.

Still concur with those thoughts.  Plus, there are enough catchy hooks; strings aplenty, glorious harmonies, and an unconventional pop sound throughout.  It won’t be easy to see what LP gets the bump to make room for Mother Mother’s O My Heart.  Gotta find a way though…

Mother Mother :: Wrecking Ball

Mother Mother :: Wisdom

2 Responses to “Oh My Heart (Again!)”


  1. 1 Joe
    December 8, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    You discovered them two years ago….at least I thought. I bought their first CD when I was living in Toronto and thought I had mentioned them to you and JRG when you were up in T-town. You’re moving toward the pop, dude! Good to hear.

  2. December 8, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    I don’t remember this introduction to them. You heard their latest record? The rumor is it’s better than their previous LP. Sorry for sleeping on your recommendation, but it’s likely you told me while I was kickin’ back with Simon and his collection of bathroom trinkets.


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

