06
Nov
08

The Dog Days Are Over!

When I sing I don’t feel like a regular person. I love the ritual of getting ready to give a part of myself to everyone. I like to draw things from above, from everything, from heaven, from hell, and push my arms to the sky and shoot them out like an exorcism. Like, ‘Get OOOOUUUUUT’ I hope I never lose that feeling.

Maybe it’s the sexist in me, but rarely do I gravitate towards female artists.  Why?  I dunno, really.  The Lillith Fair never did it for me, I guess.  And then what if the girl artist stemmed from London – which is home of the funny accent that can make me cringe in song. In life though, there are exceptions to every rule – especially in music, right?

Take the artist Florence and the Machine, who comes from across the pond.  She has a voice; one that maybe Feist is jealous of.  Florence is playful, too – like her peer, Kate Nash.  The Machine (doesn’t exist) can arrange a mature sounding pop song, as well. (Can cover them, too) Take the latest single, “The Dog Days are Over” with its light piano accompaniment, hand claps, and energetic beat all weaved together by the forcefulness of Florence’s vocal instrument.  Catch the excellent song and video below, and watch out for her LP in 2009.



0 Responses to “The Dog Days Are Over!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

