29
Oct
08

And after all, you’re my…

Wonderwall.  Today’s inspiration comes from a fellow blogger – I think he still blogs for MiS, but his love for tonight’s subject is immense; actually to the point of worshiping the artist and his entire catalog. That gentleman was kind enough to send this to me:

Liam told me he hates “Wonderwall.” It’s the one song he literally hates singing. That’s interesting, because he would never say that to me. Well, I hate him singing it, too. Liam doesn’t sound like he did ten years ago. Your voice and your body change. We’ve never got it right. It’s too slow or too fast. I think Ryan Adams is the only person who ever got that song right. I’d love to do the Ryan Adams version, but in front of 60,000 Oasis fans that wouldn’t be possible.

Thanks again to this epic thread on the alt-country hero, Ryan Adams, his music has seen a sudden resurgence on my decks.  Ryan covered Oasis’ ’95 smash “Wonderwall” on the 2003 Love Is Hell Pt. 1 EP.  Before I share the cover of Wonderwall, there is a small connection to this song I’m sharing.  Way back in my sophomore year of high school, we were required to take a speech class.  And to grab our attention and make us care about this class, the teacher assigned us to choose a song we liked and then share it with the class.  This almost baffles me now, but I chose the Oasis single to read to the class.  That’s all it was – we had to read the lyrics to the class.  If I remember correctly, then we sat down.  No discussion about why we chose this, what those lyrics mean to us, no intriguing questions thrown at the audience, etc.  Did I then play the song for the class on CD while they all blankly stared at me?  You’d think, right?  This didn’t earn me any indie cool points.

MiS brings you, our faithful reader and avid alt-country fan, Adam’s rendition…

Ryan Adams :: Wonderwall




1 Response to “And after all, you’re my…”


  1. October 30, 2008 at 9:00 am

    “Adams really doesn’t seem capable of imagining a world outside of himself anymore, and it’s his greatest artistic downfall. His music rarely strives to connect or communicate with other people, and even at its best is exactly only as compelling as Adams himself is compelling.”

    – Joshua Love (Pitchfork) :: October 30, 2008


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

