11
Jun
08

Erector Set Skyscraper

Gizmodgery

Has Matt Mahaffey morphed into an architect?  The thought immediately popped into my head this morning when I read this story about a 65-foot model skyscraper recently built with steel toy components.  It’s currently being exhibited at Rockefeller Center in the Midtown Manhattan district of New York City. 

The artist behind the creation, Chris Burden, had this to say about the structure:

It’s a poetic interpretation of 30 Rock, it’s not a model of it. It references all the tall buildings in Manhattan.

I trust he and his crew listened to Self’s excellent Gizmodgery album when building it in L.A.  Building with toys while listening to toy instruments.  It doesn’t get much better than that!

Here’s a video of Matt Mahaffey and Seth Timbs performing “I Love To Love Your Love My Love” from the aforementioned album at Spaceland in Los Angeles.  Will this DVD ever see the light of day, Mr. Mahaffey?  Perhaps I should direct my inquiry to the boys in AC/DC.

5 Responses to “Erector Set Skyscraper”


  1. June 11, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Wow! Dude, thanks for making me think of that DVD again. Asshole.

    Keep up the consistency. Sadly, we are the only contributors these days.

  2. 2 Joe
    June 13, 2008 at 12:04 am

    DMB: “Keep up the consistency. Sadly, we are the only contributors these days.”

    Sad indeed.

  3. June 19, 2008 at 9:47 am

    Great post! MM is only getting better. If you don’t believe me listen to “You’re Freaking me out girl” (Wired all Wrong) on lala.com for free and tell me that isn’t amazing!

    Mahaff has always been my main influence…next to Creed.

    youtube.com/wickedceltics

  4. June 19, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Shit, dude. Street teaming on our blog! He likes your work, but that is spam to me. Creed?


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

