11
Apr
08

The Felice Brothers: Does it Get Much Better?

2008 might go down as the most memorable year I’ve purchased music.  We’re only in April, but there have been numerous fantastic releases and concerts.  About two weeks ago, I was checking out the calendar at the Larimer Lounge in Denver.  In just a few hours, I saw Justin Townes Earle (son of Steve) was opening for a band called The Felice Brothers. I made my little trek over to the band’s Myspace page and was simply awed by the tunes.  Despite that, I didn’t get off my ass and down to the show.  I should have, but I’m sure I’ll get many more chances to see The Felice Brothers.

The band combines folk, Americana, and roots rock with lead singer Ian Felice’s shockingly Dylan-like vocals.  It’s clear too that Felice isn’t just trying to sound like Dylan, his voice sounds natural and actually much better than Dylan’s, but it still has a certain raspiness that recalls the best of Dylan.  The band hails from the Catskill Mountains of upstate New York, and while that’s not technically part of the Appalachian range, their lyrics about guns, the law, and alcohol could happily find a home all the way down to ‘bama.  They’re the real deal and are being recognized as such, with sold out shows ahead in NYC and London.  The band is signed to Team Love Records, the label run by Conor Oberst and Nate Krenkel.

Check out, “Love Me Tenderly”

Catch them also on NPR’s World Cafe. (sorry, not a live performance)

2 Responses to “The Felice Brothers: Does it Get Much Better?”


  1. April 12, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    The Dylan influence if obvious. I also hear a little Jeff Tweedy / Wilco in this song too. I like the way this song builds into the communal chorus. I envision singing this song in unison at closing time in a local pub.


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

