02
Apr
08

do the p-n-a-u…

P

It seems like nowadays, all you have to be is from Australia, preferably claim Sydney or Melbourne as your residence and tune your instruments to the key of electro-pop meets rock to almost guarantee a quality number. There has been and still continues to be a thriving scene over that way: Cut Copy, Presets, Midnight Juggernauts, Muscles, etc. (’08 is already huge for these bands) But new on my radar is PNAU-who has had me want to break out the keyboards, find a horn player, program a few beats, hook up the slide-whistle; and then recruit a group of neighborhood kids to write a few simple verses with a hooky chorus, and just hope to construct a song even half as infectious as “Baby”.
I guess since we’re a day behind, that’s the reason I’ve yet to hear this song or even of this group, until recently. Simply, this child-like exuberance is missing from a lot of my music. Click the jump for a taste….

PNAU :: “Baby” (We don’t have permission, I guess)

The video is almost half as fun as the song itself.

This shit just makes you smile: A live performance on a local morning show.

3 Responses to “do the p-n-a-u…”


  1. 1 Joe
    April 2, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Wasn’t there a time Dave you said you weren’t into really poppy material, such as Of Montreal (pre-Hissing Fauna)? The music video is fun, if not a bit creepy with the white sheets/painted faces (ghosts?) get-ups. Makes me think of some choice scenes in O Brother, Where Art Thou?, but with kids.

    I guess since we’re a day behind, that’s the reason I’ve yet to hear this song or even of this group, until recently.

    Bravo!

  2. April 2, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Catchy, though I don’t know if I’m sold on the kid vocals. I checked out some of their other songs on Myspace and noticed that isn’t always the case in other songs. Regardless, it carries a great beat.

    I can’t believe you didn’t take this opportunity to call out Silverchair among the Australian bands you listed. I realize they might not be as current as the others, but they can’t be faded…especially Frogstomp! You know this, though.

  3. July 26, 2008 at 1:14 am

    The pronunciation of PNAU..
    Is it P-N-A-U or Pn-aur as my friend says :/
    Great song.


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

