24
Feb
08

Those Drugs….

US

Go downtown with the drugs in my body…

While attempting to situate my totally unorganized collection of digital files, I stumbled upon this track from Paris, France’s Thieves Like Us. (none of them actually stem from France though) They are relatively new to the Daft Punk meets New Order game and have only generated a few studio tracks so far. Local fashion label meets electronic music label Kitsune, quickly took interest in this trio, and over the course of the past few years, they’ve dug many acts I frequently come back to. I hear nothing but potential in their first single, ‘Drugs in My Body’. Repetitive robotic beats, an energetic bounce and the overall vibe that would have fit perfectly in ‘96’s Trainspotting or ‘99’s Go.

Thieves Like Us :: ‘Drugs in My Body’

Their video has that total youth exuberance feel to it that totally reminded me of the two above flicks. I’m thinking this was shot in Germany, maybe?

3 Responses to “Those Drugs….”


  1. February 24, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Fun track. The video recalls images of The Breakfast Club with all the hallway running scenes. I love the club-girl dance scene too. Their band name sounds familiar to me for some reason, but I’d never listened to this song before now. Do know if they intend to drop an LP?

  2. February 25, 2008 at 6:33 am

    We did catch Austin dancing to Thievery Corporation at Lolla ’06. He immediately stopped when he realized we were recording him.

  3. February 25, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    I put it as my track on Myspace. It’s decent.


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

