24
Feb
08

I Spy(ies) More Canadian Goodness

 

According to the band’s website, Toronto’s The I Spies:

…will lead the next wave of Canadian indie rock to new heights! Due for nation-wide release on March 11th, The I Spies’ full length debut, “In The Night”, is currently creating a buzz as a small-run release in independent record shops across Toronto. “To the City” and “In The Night”, The I Spies’ first double single is currently making waves on college charts across the country and on the internet. Canada is taking notice.

Their collaboration breeds an imposing sound. Robertson’s gritty guitar hooks scuzz up Kay’s strong pop rants, while Payne’s infectious bass melodies race alongside Saks’ machinegun-percussion. The music is urgent, tastefully abrasive, and unabashedly hook-laden. “In The Night” frames themes of urban claustrophobia and retro-futuristic disappointment with a grande-scale tone of cinematic escapism. This is indie rock at its absolute finest!

Who am I to disagree?  No one, so I won’t.  After listening today, I’m buying it hook, line, and sinker.  This album will be a indie hit.  Catchy, catchy pop goodness; post-punk guitar pop, reminiscent of early 80s British rock.  Call them the Canadian Interpol if you must, or the Canadian Franz Ferdinand if that further helps.  As someone who hasn’t gotten into either of those bands much though, there’s something I find more genuine in the crunchy guitar and hook-laden craftsmanship of what I’ve heard from “In the Night”, the debut from The I Spies (five songs are streaming at the band’s website, specifically here).  There’s an additional song at Myspace, although the sound quality isn’t as good.

Listen, and remember, you heard it first here.  Out March 11th in Canada.  Also, watch this space for a review of another new Canadian band, Modernboys Moderngirls, released yesterday February 23rd.

2 Responses to “I Spy(ies) More Canadian Goodness”


  1. 1 Chloe Jayne
    February 24, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Sounds good. Canada produces some awsome music, in my humble opinion. Like the site design too. First band site I’ve loaded in a while that didn’t make my dinosaur of a computer cry in agonay

  2. February 24, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Just as your write-up describes, those tracks are quality indie-rock songs. They have the formula down pat. I especially dig the hammond organ throughout “Talkshow.”


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

