21
Jan
08

You’ve Got No (Snail) Mail…For a Reason

Yeah, it’s a federal holiday, no USPS today.  As you know, today is a day to recognize the Reverend Martin Luther King, Jr. and his accomplishments in the Civil Rights Movement.  Up until 2000 in my home state of Virginia, it was officially called Lee-Jackson-King Day.  Don’t ask, just read Wikipedia.  Talk about messed up.  I never knew that growing up, but I’m sure I was just in the wrong part of the state.

Recently, I’ve been listening to the great compilation “The Essential Sly & The Family Stone.”  It’s an amazing collection and reflects the genre-defying music of Sly Stone.  You’ve got everything from the relaxing sounds of “Hot Fun in the Summertime” to the in-your-face “Don’t Call Me Nigger, Whitey.”  Unless you’ve heard it, you wouldn’t likely realize the next line of the chorus is “don’t call me whitey, nigger.”

On this day recognizing the accomplishments of MLK, it seemed prudent to post the classic “Everyday People” by the first significant integrated rock band.  It’s one of my favorite songs and I think King would have dug it.  I also plan from time to time on continuing to post some older songs.  I listen to them enough, I should give an occasional shout out

 “Everyday People,” released in 1968,#1 for 5 weeks

5 Responses to “You’ve Got No (Snail) Mail…For a Reason”


  1. January 21, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Man, a great post and oh so appropriate. That Lee-Jackson-King day made me laugh, even though it’s oh so wrong. Hilarious.

    It’s funny you posted this because I’ve really been leaning towards diving into the daunting task of some 70’s rock. I really want to start a good collection of funky soul as well. You may have been that catalyst, JT! Quality.

  2. 2 Lacy
    January 21, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Joe rocks! you should have been a music journalist…what were you thinking?!

  3. January 22, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    A very fitting song to post on such an honorable day. Good work, JT. I tried posting something similiar last night to no available. If you find my muse laying around in CO, please send it to Chicago immediately.

    BTW, props for the Lacy love!

  4. March 30, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Just read a little blurb on King in Time due to his death anniversary coming up and thought of this post. I just re-read this because it was so solid. Again, JT, you always bring it. Nice work, Doc…


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

