19
Dec
07

C’mon hide your lover underneath the COVERS!

Damen

Some covers that I enjoyed:

At times, it’s a random band covering a song you may dig; other times it’s one great act putting their own flavor on a modern day classic, or simply, Mahaffey doing what he does. These four after the jump caught my attention this year.


Besides one great act covering another one, London’s dirty DJ Erol Alkan produced this stunna below.

Franz Ferdinand – ‘All My Friends’ (LCD Soundsystem)

______________________________________________________________
Lily Allen, the cute starlet doing her thing out of the U.K. covered the only ELO song that we both know. I seriously couldn’t name another one of their tracks.

Lily Allen – ‘Mr. Blue Sky’ (ELO)

______________________________________________________________

Foo Fighters – ‘Keep the Car Running’ (Arcade Fire)

______________________________________________________________

I obviously haven’t had much time to sit with this one, but MM’s new track that is also a cover is sitting pretty high right now. Forget about the weather outside and give it a spin. Chalk it up there with another great b-side.

Matt Mahaffey — ’17 Days’ (Prince)

7 Responses to “C’mon hide your lover underneath the COVERS!”


  1. December 20, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    The Foo Fighters cover has been a favorite here at the Castle ever since you listed it. Good looks with the Lily Allen and Franz Ferdinand cuts as well. I hadn’t listened to them until now.

    Great picture (props to your bro).

  2. 2 Joe
    March 19, 2008 at 2:18 am

    Freaking grading. That’s what I was doing when I should have been downloading these songs. Damn! I have a goal someday to put together a compilation of my favorite covers. Maybe I’ll start with a selection of four in a post…

  3. 3 Joe
    March 19, 2008 at 2:19 am

    Freaking grading. That’s what I was doing when I should have been downloading these songs. Damn! I have a goal someday to put together a compilation of my favorite covers. Maybe I’ll start with a selection of four in a post…

  4. March 19, 2008 at 5:59 am

    Why the hell are those songs being displayed in quotes? WordPress bugs me. My mom now uses blogspot.

  5. 5 Joe
    March 19, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    If you want to get annoyed with WordPress, just edit my Amsterdam post (without changing it..hehe) and take note of what you see in the edit box…

  6. November 5, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Fun. Add to your bookmarks. And how long it took to write articles?


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

