02
Dec
07

This is the Remix!

LCD

Sounds of Silver is pretty untouchable in terms of qualitay and more often than not flawless songs shouldn’t be re-worked for remix purposes. Right? I’ve become practically immune to remixes the past few years after hearing so many that are just straight up bad. Some people do it right though. And for others, it helps to put you on the map. This link that I’m sharing went around back in March when the record and then this remix album surfaced, but some could have missed it or decided to just pass on it.

A team of “UK and international underground producers” tried their hands at reinterpreting all nine tracks from this year’s banger of an album. There is no need to give descriptions because then you may develop preconceived notions of what X, Y, Z sounds like before you even hear it for yourself. A few of the songs are done well, even great, and then a few others fall flat. The remix record in its entirety can be snagged here:

LCD Remixed

My personal favorites:

Get Innocuous (Geek Chic’s Harm-Free Retouch)

Us vs Them (Go Home Productions Remix)

London, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down (Hearing Double & JCB Soundsystem)

As much as I do enjoy Murphy’s closing track remixed, I still wouldn’t close any kind of set with it!

2 Responses to “This is the Remix!”


  1. December 3, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    Brining it with a gun! You kindly directed me to these remixes earlier in the year, but I’ve never really given them much attention. I really need to give it a proper listen.

    Speaking of remixes, the Soulwax remix compliation has held my attention, surprisingly enough. There are a couple I skip through, but most of it is quality. I’d be happy to send it to you, but I imagine you already have all the tracks featured.

  2. 2 Joe
    December 6, 2007 at 5:20 pm

    cool…taking a listen. we’re reading a piece in my class tomorrow called, “Copy-and-Persist: The Logic of Mash-Up Culture.” I might play “London…” How’s that a remix though? I mean, originally, weren’t remixed without new vocals, etc? Sounds like a cover to me. I had the same issue with the remixed Stars album from this year.


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

