29
Nov
07

Amsterdam calling “Home”

One of my earliest MiS posts commented on my favorite band of many years, Amsterdam, and their fabulous eponymous debut, The Journey. Nearly three years later, the band has finished recording their second album, Arm in Arm, at Charlton Farm Studios in Somerset in the southwest of England. With new management, a new label, a new live album, a blogging frontman, and a new member in violinist Anna Jenkins, the band is primed for its most successful year to date. The first single, “Home,” from their new album is set for release on December 10th in the UK and the band has recently posted a video to YouTube.

I will save most additional musings for the LP’s release in January. I will say that longtime fans will obviously not be surprised by the Celtic influence of the new song, based on previous work of frontman Ian Prowse in Pele during the 90s and the new presence of Anna Jenkins. With live favorite “Class War in the Bedroom” getting its first studio release as the b-side (see my clip from the Red Lion, Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port last year), the single packs a little extra punch. Whether it can make my Top 10 is doubtful as a single, unless Jason wants to move beyond EPs…

3 Responses to “Amsterdam calling “Home””


  1. November 29, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    If I close my eyes when listening to this song, I can see myself sitting in a Scottish pub surrounded by dozens of local patrons singing along as it plays over the PA. It’s extremely anthemic and proud. I know the band is English, but the Celtic influence throws me to Scotland (or Ireland of course, but I’ve never been).

    Side note: Is the hottie in the video also the violinist?

  2. November 29, 2007 at 6:41 pm

    Whether it can make my Top 10 is doubtful as a single, unless Jason wants to move beyond EPs…

    That really made me laugh.

    I checked out the violinist in her little black dress on MySpace. That one Stars chick has a leg up on Anna though.

    The consistency on MiS is insane. Can we keep it up in ’08?

  3. November 29, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    I forgot to comment on Joe’s shot at EPs or singles in the Top 10. Classic…


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

