29
Oct
07

Good Shoes Tough to Beat

Two of my favorite recent Britpop releases were recommendations made by Jason (who is on British soil as I write): Sheffield’s Little Man Tate and Brighton’s The Kooks. Luckily, I have the great Not Lame Records to thank for my newest find, The Good Shoes from London’s Morden neighbourhood.

As someone who has never managed to catch hold of the sound of the Arctic Monkeys; Good Shoes are what I had hoped the Monkeys might have been. Writing speedy, jaunty, crunchy little indie pop/rock numbers suits the Shoes just fine. This CD should become a classic of mid 2000s Britpop. Take a listen. One of my top albums of the year.

“Small Town Girl”

And, the video to the excellent single, “Never Meant to Hurt You.”

1 Response to “Good Shoes Tough to Beat”


  1. October 30, 2007 at 1:01 am

    Welcome back, JT! We’ve missed your scholarly posts!

    These guys sound better than the Monkeys. I couldn’t get into those guys either. Nice recommendation!

    I’ve been tagging all my posts under “Music”, in addition to reviews/recommendations because then it comes up on the tag page. Maybe an additional hit or two?


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

