22
Aug
07

Shadow Boxin’ When I Heard You On the Radio. Ugh! I Just Don’t Know. . .

 Electric Soft Parade

I’m not quite sure where I came across this song earlier this summer, but it has been frequently played on my iPod over the last few weeks.  It’s a song that stuck in my head upon first hearing it – so much so that I’ve repeated it on more than one occasion (something I rarely do). 

The song is called “If That’s the Case, Then I Don’t Know” by a four-piece indie band from Brighton, England called Electric Soft Parade.  The main forces behind the band are brothers Alex and Tom White.  They earned a nomination for the coveted Mercury Prize after releasing their debut in 2002.  The band quickly signed with a major to release the follow-up.  As many sophomore releases go, The American Adventure proved to be a disappointment in the eyes of their fans and the band was consequently dropped from BMG.  Their latest, No Need To Be Downhearted, dropped in July by English indie, Truck Records

Though they’ve received comparisons to Teenage Fanclub and Ash, this song in particular has elements in it that call to mind MiS favorites Soulwax and Muse.  The whirling guitar lick mixed with a driving synth hooked me from the start.  White’s melancholy vocal delivery creates a dark undertone which only seems fitting given the title of the song. 

Pass the ‘ol gold:

Electric Soft Parade :: Official Site
Electric Soft Parade :: Myspace

Electric Soft Parade :: If That’s the Case, Then I Don’t Know

1 Response to “Shadow Boxin’ When I Heard You On the Radio. Ugh! I Just Don’t Know. . .”


  1. 1 Dave
    August 23, 2007 at 11:36 am

    I’m lovin’ the consistency here!

    I’d catch these guys live just based on this track. Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

