21
Aug
07

Dude, she’s got her own ideas, even as a non-blonde and non-blue-eyed female

Kala

Just like everyone else on the net today, I’m going to throw a small mention of M.I.A.’s new record, Kala out there. I did indeed buy into her hype two years ago and fell back into it today with the purchase of her new album. (I know what I said, kid.) For $7.99, can you really pass it up? And oh yea, enjoy this clip…

3 Responses to “Dude, she’s got her own ideas, even as a non-blonde and non-blue-eyed female”


  1. August 21, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Just passing by (WordPress tags, you know…), and I’m not sure what “I did indeed buy into her hype” means. IMO, the best way to ignore hype is to ignore whether or not it exists altogether and just appreciate something for what it is, away from all that stuff. (Same goes for hipness.)

    I was completely out of it in terms of music in 2005; I was doing more political blogging and just not looking at the music scene(s) that year. So I didn’t know about the hype around M.I.A., really, though I may have heard the name. I fell in love with her when I caught her on a local public television show broadcast (in 2006) of a tape of her concert in Central Park. How un-hip is that? How un-hyped is that? Then I bought Arular and that blew me away too (though Kala is even better!)…

    Anyway, you’re right, at $7.99 (also at J&R Music World, where I bought it in NYC), this is a great deal.

  2. August 22, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    I am shocked to hear you dropped the cash for her new album after hearing what you said about it last weekend. But I’m glad you threw down. I enjoyed her set at Lolla a few weeks ago and am excited to hear the new material.

    Sidenote…is it me or does the chorus sound nearly identical to K7’s Come Baby Come from back in the day?

  3. August 23, 2007 at 9:03 am

    I thought that was Snow at first.


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

