13
Dec
06

State of the Ark: One seminar paper left.

 

Howdy boys and girls.  Welcome aboard to our many new visitors who helped make yesterday one of our most trafficed days yet.  I imagine the students in my journalism class who have found our little pie in the sky blog will soon resume their normal surfing activty.  This is hardly Second Life.  I’m officially announcing my triumphant return to our blog, after about a month away.  I finished a paper today and have one left Monday, then it’s no more classes [as student] for me…ever!  I am actually looking forward to comprehensive exams, as twisted as that may sound.  Just one step closer to my Canadian rockin’ dissertation.

So, The Ark.  My vote for the most original, over-the-top, and embarrasingly good Scandanavian band since Hurra Torpedo.  And, yet, poor Milton Friedman could only explain away the economic successes of the Scandanivian economies (despite violating every laissez-faire capitalist dogma) with comments such as, “Yes, we have many Scandinanvian-Americans in the U.S. and there is no unemployment among them either.”  Milt only had to look as far as their wonderful pop music to see that creativity is the engine of their economies.  If you didn’t hear it and see it with Abba though, what can one really say?

The Ark promote themselves as glam-rockers and I think they look the part.  I don’t know whether they fully sound the part, but I honestly have little knowledge of glam-rock.  Amazon.com just gave their new album, State of the Ark, number 33 on it’s Top 100 list of 2006.  Fair enough.  Thank goodness it edged out The Artic Monkeys’s debut, my biggest “don’t get it” huge success of 2006.

The Ark teach us all that no matter the silly, so-called glamorous outfits or the absurd lyrics (e.g., “Had no cannabis to sedate us/So we smoked carrots and potatoes/Tea and head-ache pills/But I can’t recall the thrills…/So don’t talk to me like that/I’m also a cat”) that a good tune is a good tune.

 I also enjoy the poetic “Rock City Wankers”

You ought to know
Just because you’re full of it
It doesn’t mean that you’re the shit
So take a good look at me
Now, Here’s some good advice:
Try some manners, fuck-face!
(I mean it, baby…)

Bob Dylan, you’ve been warned.

Despite my surface criticisms, the Ark have produced one of the catchiest albums of 2006.  It’s as glam as I’ve ever gotten, but it’s fun with no greater intentions (except to call out the wankers).  I would say it’s to glam what the Kooks are to Britpop for 2006.

Okay, quizzes to grade.  And, of course, you gotta see “Clamour for Glamour.”  And to think, that’s not even close to the best song on the album.  Shake it like a Polaroid picture.

2 Responses to “State of the Ark: One seminar paper left.”


  1. 1 Dave
    December 17, 2006 at 7:30 pm

    It’s great to have our most prolific member back in the saddle. This just may be too over-the-top for me, I think.

    We have a Mickey’s on ice for you at Jason’s place. Get ready!

  2. 2 Dave
    December 17, 2006 at 7:36 pm

    So, I closed the window and the song was still in my head, which led to another listen. Sold, Joe. Amazon calls them Sweden’s Scissor Sisters and I’m down with those lads’ music, but nothing else.


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

