10
Nov
06

Too early for a best of 2006 list?

Car

As the finale of 2006 rapidly approaches, and we anxiously await the last day of December (New Year’s Eve) a time like now is when I begin to ponder what few albums were standouts of this year. No offense to Damien Rice, but I don’t think he’s bringing loud guitars, bass, fuzz, and any other essential ingredient to concoct a rock record on 11/14. (“9” is highly anticipated by me) If I were to judge my favorite album this year based on the amount of listenings I’ve had with each of the records I purchased, then it would without a doubt go to “Carnavas” by LA’s Silversun Pickups. Earlier this year someone with similar musical tastes highly recommended a band that had the sound of Autolux, the Smashing Pumpkins, and HUM. Of course, it’s all been done before and those three bands were all influenced by greats before them, but that was maybe one of the better R.I.Y.Ls that I’ve ever heard. Hopefully in the near future, I will share with you all the best R.I.Y.L that I ever came across.

Right now though, this record is one that has practically followed me around everywhere I go. There are plenty of artists out there that put out amazing records and then to supplement that spectacular record, they put on a show so jaw dropping that you never want that set to end. My fellow contributors can name a few other artists that share that same similarity. The other song offerings on this site have been rather easy to decide upon, but to me, I could have shared any of the 11 tracks off this record, because I just do find it that good. Please enjoy.

Dream at tempo 119

Common reactor

3 Responses to “Too early for a best of 2006 list?”


  1. 1 Joe
    December 12, 2006 at 10:35 am

    I’m cloes to return from the end of the semester/moving abyss. I’ll bring it. I had never checked Blog stats, but it’s amazing there have been over 1,000 views and we’ve not even promoted the site. With our best of 2006, I’m making a new commitment to Moving in Stereo. I say we rank our Top 15 each…whose posting about L.A.?????

  2. 3 Joe
    December 13, 2006 at 9:59 pm

    fantastic pic….


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

