24
Oct
06

In the broad daylight…

Beach

 

In just 10 seconds time this track plays with your, well, at least my head in where it could just possibly go. At first, it sounds like it could be a new Kanye joint, but then within three seconds you hear a light pulsating beat a la Prefuse 73. All of a sudden, Gabriel Rios’ gentle, yet smooth vocal delivery immerses through your speakers and into your head. He is singing, although his voice’s cadence is almost that of a rapper. To add to melodies thrown down by the acoustic, there are also sparse piano pieces, a woman sprinkling the track with ooohs and children’s voices thrown throughout. On repeat. This one is for my prolific friends at Moving in Stereo. Is this the first track Joe may like from me? Perhaps.

Gabriel Rios- Broad Daylight

4 Responses to “In the broad daylight…”


  1. 1 Joe
    October 26, 2006 at 5:14 am

    Ouch! I’ve liked other songs you’ve posted. This song is pretty wild. I don’t know Gabriel much, but I wouldn’t mind knowing/hearing more…the Brazalian Mahaffey?

  2. 2 Dave
    October 26, 2006 at 5:18 am

    I was busting your balls, Joe. So far I’ve only heard this one track, but I’m more than willing to just purchase his record. AM discussions!

  3. 3 Joe
    October 26, 2006 at 6:16 am

    Speaking of balls, does he sound A LOT like a she? I keep trying to say to myself, “Joe, he’s a male,” but his voice is unmistakeably effeminate at times.

  4. October 28, 2006 at 9:30 am

    This song is fucking fabulous, perhaps even emitting notions of a perfect pop song. Fantastic find, Dave. I’d like to hear more from this guy…complete with female harmonies on every track!!


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

