20
Oct
06

Actually drunk

Living with Bush 

I don’t get drunk often in Boulder.  That’s because, when I’m ready to kick back and relish a hard week spent, most folks in Boulder are preparing for a 14ner, maybe their “first.”  Yes, they talk about their first 14ner as if it was their first non-elevation conquest.  It’s simply not right.

I don’t know why I feel a desire to write now, since I haven’t had New Haven pizza and I just learned that I grew up in the repressive South, where opportunies are as hard to come by as a girl who “likes me for me.”  Yeah, based on this compass, I’m feeling like a loser, if not for the fact I’m seeing The Features (and The Raconteurs) in the greatest of American cities–Chicago, Illinois (we love you Bruce….), Dec. 30/31st.

This is a music blog, so I’m supposed to recommend some music, no matter when or why I post.  So, I’ll simply recommending the most significant song I’ve heard in the past year.  It is, what it is, but I’m not afraid to say it means more to me than some catchy pop tune with no moral compass begrudingly trapped in the reality of Bush’s NeoCamerica.  Despite this post, you must still check out “Safe Travels,” by Peter & the Wolf.  Beautiful and sublime.

 Kolb it, Obama style.  Always remember though, an estimated 650,000 dead.

Neil Young: “Living with War”

2 Responses to “Actually drunk”


  1. 1 Dave
    October 21, 2006 at 12:44 am

    The fact you mentioned the Features and posted a MP3 makes it totally fine with me. Empty Bottle was rocked tonight rather hard!

  2. 2 Joe
    October 21, 2006 at 12:57 am

    Who rocked?

    Viva Voce label: Barsuk, Full Time Hobby
    Silversun Pickups label: Dangerbird
    The Kingdom label: Arena Rock

    I love the Empty Bottle, since Jason witnessed The Loud Family’s return to Chicago. I’ll never forget Jason looking over at me, himeself in awe, as I stood in awe of Scott Miller & Co.


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

