14
Oct
06

Despite this cruel world

Icey

Is there a record available for every mood? For me, the frame of mind I’m in at a specific time can completely affect the opinion on a record, no matter how good or unique that group’s sound just may be and a few songs from San Francisco’s Halou must have came just at the right point during a rather melancholy day for me. Nine times out of 10, I’m an avid listener of upbeat songs that have positive, yet inspiring lyrics, but there are times when a downtempo track will catch my attention. The recipe to craft these beautiful, but also at the same time dark songs is similar to what another infamous downtempo/trip-hop group used, that being Portishead with two males and a female on vocals. Besides the obvious comparison to Portishead, Rebecca Coseboom’s lead vocals quickly reminded me of Shirley Manson’s of Garbage fame.

Halou uses guitars, keyboards of all styles, at times a voice that seems to stem from above, and ghostly beats to create a sound that has the ability to quickly put you in a whole other state of being. I hope that you aren’t as difficult as I am when it comes to hearing a new song for the first time, but regardless of your feelings, hopefully this music will instantly hit you.

R.I.Y.L.-Portishead, Garbage, & Sigur Ros

Halou-Everything

Halou-Honeythief

2 Responses to “Despite this cruel world”


  1. 1 Joe
    December 12, 2006 at 10:38 am

    R.I.Y.L. eh? Do you still read CMJ? I did a lot in college, but have now turned to my “VH-1” Paste…haha! I know what you mean by that comment though, but Paste is pretty diverse, but maybe that is VH-1ish.

  2. 2 Dave
    December 12, 2006 at 5:16 pm

    You’re just getting old. I wish CMJ was on the newstands still. Actually, CMJ was in a conversation we all had in Los Angeles. We anxiously await a monster post from you.


Leave a Reply

Upcoming Shows:

a

October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

